ATTENTION WRITERS - Here is your chance to share your work. Send us your short stories to be published on-line. Click here for details Don't Delay

LATEST UPDATES


December 9



December 1, 2017
Updated Convention Listings and
Rocky Horror Picture Show


November
Book Pick
of the Month




November 15
New reviews in
The Book Nook,
Odds and Ends and
Voices From the Past


November 12



November 1, 2017
Updated Convention Listings and
Rocky Horror Picture Show


Previous Updates

WesternSFA



Prudence
By Gail Carriger
Orbit, Hardcover, $20, 368 pp
Published March 2015

I admit it, this book isn’t quite my speed. But it’s still a fun ride.

Prudence is the latest steampunk adventure from the irrepressible Gail Carriger, a humorous romp on an airship with a pair of British women in search of the perfect cup of tea. It is a sequel of sorts to Carriger’s “Parasol Protectorate” series, set in the same world, but a generation later. So we are seeing a 19th-century steampunk England that owes a lot to modern urban fantasy — it is populated with vampires and werewolves who have assumed their rightful place amongst polite society.

Prudence (Rue) Alessandra Maccon Akeldama is the daughter of Alexia, the protagonist of the “Parasol Protectorate” series. Like her mother she is “soulless” – able to assume the powers and forms of the paranormal creatures she comes in contact with. She is also a free spirit, so when her adoptive vampire father sends her to India to obtain a rare tea, she naturally agrees, bringing along her best friend, Prim. Obtaining a ladybug-painted airship she christens “The Spotted Custard,” the young ladies of quality sail off to adventure in the colonies.

With a particularly memorable exit.

“They floated up smoothly, if rather more round and cheerful than elegant. Once clear of the trees, the propeller whirled to life, driving them forwards, preparing to push them into the correct current once they broke into the aetherosphere. Then, quite unexpectedly, the chimney off the stern belched out two great burps of smoke along with a tremendous flatulent noise.

Rue could feel herself blushing, for this was not the dignified float-off she had imagined. Some pigeons, all unnoticed until that moment, squawked and left their roosting spots on The Spotted Custard… Thus unchaperoned, The Spotted Custard farted again and floated sedately upward.”

Soon Rue and Prim find themselves entangled in international intrigue as they stumble into an interspecies war with the lycanthropes and undead of India. It turns out that werewolves and vampires aren’t the only metanatural creatures in Carriger’s world — India is populated with weremonkeys.

Along the way, Rue and Prim broker a peace deal, secure the tea and learn a little about the trampling of native cultures by the British Empire.

The plot is slight, but Prudence is full of fun. And really the novel is a playground for Carriger to show off her love of comedies of manners. Fans of Jane Austen, P.G. Wodehouse and Connie Willis will love this irreverent adventure story, which will continue in the upcoming Imprudence. ~~ Michael Senft

Follow us

for notices on new content and events.

Our Columns:

The Book Nook
Reviews of the latest in science fiction and fantasy

The Illustrated Corner
Reviews of the latest in Manga and Graphic Novels

Odds and Ends
Reviews of non-genre items our staff enjoyed
(Can be books, movies, TV shows or music)

Voices from the Past
Reviews of genre books from the past (at least 20 years old)
and those which are Out of Print but still wonderful to read

A Chat with
Interviews with people of interest
Current Interview: Brandon Sanderson

Author Appearance & News
This page lists author signings and appearances, convention news
and any other events we think might interest our readers.

Reel Talk
Reviews of current genre movies in the theater
and favorite and new DVD releases

A Tale Told Thusly
A place for new and established writers to show off their short stories

Trivia Contests

In Remembrance
Memories of those who have passed on



WesternSFA Main Page

Links of Interest

Email Us

Disclaimer

Copyright ©2005-2017 All Rights Reserved
(Note that external links to guest web sites are not maintained by WesternSFA)
Comments, questions etc. email WebMaster